Tastes and Age

Lately I find myself engrossed in a couple of television shows. I was a firm fan of How I Met Your Mother, but it’s over now. I watch The Big Bang Theory and Modern Family, but I’m absolutely hooked on Grimm, Once Upon a Time, and Agents of Shield. I’ve glommed a few series on Netflix: Dr. Who, Eureka, Warehouse 13, Primeval, The Dresden Files, Firefly; and I’ve caught a few episodes of Torchwood and Farscape (not glomming those, though). Most of my friends who are not in the writing world don’t watch any of these. They don’t read the same books as I either. They’ve all seen Breaking Bad, which I am currently watching, but more out of a sense of “need to” rather than “want to.” I recognize the superior story crafting, the superb acting, but it’s just not my thing. I’ve been pleading with them to watch Game of Thrones with little success. We own the discs and the books.

It’s left me wondering about tastes and age. I suppose most people believe that as one ages, one’s tastes become more serious. I’ve found the opposite to be true. I’m gravitating even more toward the paranormal (to use a generic term for sci-fi, fantasy, and other speculative fiction). I recently visited my daughter in Boston, and I think I shocked her roommates when I not only understood their references, but added my own insights to their conversations. We watched Pacific Rim together and had a great time.

So am I just more youthful in my tastes? I don’t think so. I believe that all entertainment, whether it’s books, movies or television, is about the characters. It’s the great characters that keep us glued to a show or a book. It’s just the delivery method that changes. A character gives us someone to recognize and cheer for. When they change, we grow. When they hurt, we ache. We feel with them and experience universal truths through them (This ties into Theme, which proves that you can’t isolate one element of a story with any kind of success). Tyrion Lannister is a fair, loyal, and just character with great flaws who happens to be a member of a ruthless family from whom he’s learned some of his behavior. Does that sound like Hamlet to you? (Okay, not exactly, but you get the picture.) And when [SPOILER–skip to the next paragraph if you don’t want to know even this non-event specific fact] they push him too far, he finally rejects them. He is honorable in his own way. We root for him even more than the outrightly noble character of Ned Stark, because liking Ned is too easy (Not that his death wasn’t heart-breaking, but, really, he was too good.)

Perhaps I like my characters in settings that aren’t of this world because I am so aware of the realities of this world. I’m highly political (which I try to keep from these pages), aware of current events, scientifically minded, and have my own personal demons I battle. In my entertainment, I don’t want to face those realities in a realistic setting. I would argue those same realities are in the paranormal, but in a background where they are easier to handle and comprehend and still be entertained. I would also argue that historical fiction is also not of this world. Must be why I like it too.

So don’t expect me to write or read the next great American novel. Give me magic, fairies, spaceships, and time travel. I’ll take my characters and morality from real fiction instead of reality fiction. Disagree with me? That’s fine. I’m not asking you to change your mind. But don’t judge my tastes either.

Meanwhile I’m waiting for a friend of mine to return from her European trip and bring me the Harry Potter series in German. Can’t wait to re-read them.

–Gabi

Books I’m reading now:

A Storm of Swords by George RR Martin (re-read)

 

 

7 thoughts on “Tastes and Age

  1. In my experience with recommending shows to people, I’ve learned the difficulties of learning what one may like. My wife for instance. She loves Modern Family, One Tree Hill, The OC, and stuff like that. She loves a good solid story with not a lot of plot holes like Lost, but shows like How I met Your Mother, or Breaking Bad she won’t watch even when they have full stories, great characters and emotional scenes.

    Personally, I like almost all the TV shows I have ever tried to watch and I absolutely love sitcoms. My family knows this, and they know how big of a nerd I am which is why they have been trying to Big Bang Theory on me because of all the pop culture references. I have tried it before and I couldn’t get into it.

    I am currently watching the show Stargate right now and I have described as this:

    If Firefly and Star Trek: TGN were brothers, and Star Trek: TGN and Indiana Jones had a baby, it would be Stargate.

    My parents love Indiana Jones, Firefly, and Star Trek but not Stargate and it just shows how different people’s tastes can be.

    And I think you should keep pushing Game of Thrones on your friends. I don’t know anyone who has seen it and doesn’t like it.

    1. Great ideas here. And I will definitely push GoT on anyone who will listen. Haven’t tried Stargate yet (I’ve seen a few episodes and the movie, but I can’t claim real familiarity with it). Maybe that should be next on my list.

      1. Not a lot of people have. Stargate atlantis has jewel staite from firefly which is why I’m watching it but I figured I might as well do the whole thing. Its a lot better than I thought it was gonna be and its really good for scifi nerds.

  2. I watch GoT, reluctantly. My husband and kids read the books and are fans. Really too much violence for my tastes. But BBT and Firefly, love. My brother got me hooked on Modern Family. I can so relate to Claire. I didn’t think I’d like Breaking Bad, but the character development was incredible! Yeah, it was violent, too, but I felt as if the violence was more purposeful, more relevant than GoT. Although I was glad to see Joffrey finally get his reward.

    1. See? Taste. I find Breaking Bad far too violent, but in GoT it doesn’t bother me as much, perhaps because of the historical/fantasy context. Breaking Bad seems too real for me, and that’s my issue with it.

  3. Pingback: Spoilers! | Words, Books, and Other Magic

  4. Pingback: Spoilers! | Tinseltown Times

Leave a Reply

