Little Known Fact About . . .

A Matter of Honor.MatterOfHonorLatestSmall

doll
Bradley Doll, not Loraina.

My heroine, Lorane, was named after one of my favorite childhood dolls, Loraina. She was one of those big eye Bradley dolls that weren’t meant to be given as toys. A bachelor friend of my parents presented both me and my sister one for Christmas–he didn’t get that these weren’t playthings–and I did end up ruining her by giving her new makeup on her eyes with markers. But I still kept her. In fact she made it into my children’s childhoods. Loraina sat in my daughters’ closet, probably creeping them out.

I don’t know where the doll ended up. She’s either in my garage somewhere in a box, or I finally threw her out because her legs got broken and she was old (And am I the only one who doesn’t like to think about throwing out toys because I’m afraid I’ll hurt their feelings? And this is from before Toy Story.), but whenever I think about Lorane from A Matter of Honor, I remember that doll.

Lorane, the character, looks nothing like Loraina, though.

–Gabi

Books I’m reading now:

The Glass Magician by Charlie N Holmberg

Leave a Reply

