Short and, well, not sweet

In which I tell you about of my collection of stories.

Yes, I’ve mentioned these stories here before, but they’re available again, this time under my name.  Preternatural is now available as an ebook (sorry, digital only), but at a reduced price ($0.99-how much of a bargain do you want?).

Preternatural Gabi Stevens_300 Pixels

 

What’s so special about these stories? Well, they are a departure for me. I’ve been published in romance. These stories are definitely not romance. Their mostly science fiction, but a couple are horror, and there’s a little fantasy in there too. The stories are short–I mean really short, and for whatever reason, my brain goes to really twisted ideas when I write short.

One of the stories is I think the best piece o writing I have ever done, and originally I wrote it in German. And it’s only two lines long. We had an assignment in college to write a fable and I did. The professor must have agreed with my opinion of the piece because I got an “A.” I threw it into the collection because I do like it, and I really like the moral. Heck, As You Wish explores the same theme.

The rest? A couple of them I wrote when I was teaching a unit on Edgar Allan Poe and short stories. Each year, I had my students write their own short stories, and I contributed one as well. We collected each story and I copied off a “book” for the class. I still have those collections. One I wrote several years ago, that always made me smile at the end (but in a wry way, not because it had a happy ending) Many I wrote in the space of a couple of months when I was encouraged to get a slim volume together.

In any case, they are re-available. The first time they appeared, I used a pseudonym because the stories are so different from my romances, but it didn’t get much traffic. Now they’re under my woo-woo name. (Anything paranormal will be under Gabi Stevens)

I hope you’ll try these tales if you haven’t already. And if you have, I’d love a review at Amazon or Goodreads or where ever.

–Gabi

Books I’m reading now:

The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison

What If? Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions by Randall Munroe

 

Leave a Reply

